Home

dog rescue

For The Daily Prompt: Daring Do


Sometimes in life you have to put your pride on the shelf, and especially those moments when you are asking yourself why a kind and generous act of your own is not being given the credit it is due. How you react to the situation, however, should never prevent you from doing it all again in the future.

It was a bitterly cold, winter’s morning that day, when me and my wife had decided to take a leisurely stroll through Flushing Meadows Corona Park in Queens, NY. The wind was whipping mercilessly across the snow-covered fields and slapping sharply against our faces. It was not a particularly very nice morning to be walking through the park, but we were young and had the warmth of a loving relationship to keep us both warm.

And a brand new puppy.

Rocky was his name, and he was pulling us along as if we were all frolicking on the Great Lawn of NYC’s Central Park on a warm, summer’s day. German Shepherd, puppy dogs are like that somehow; the snow and the ice seem to be nothing more than a minor nuisance to them.

It was about 20-minutes into our walk that we began to hear what sounded like the frantic, yelping of a dog coming from the small lake that ran under the Van Wyck Expressway that bordered that side of the park. The overpass to it above was supported by six, round, concrete columns that ran from below the waterline and up to the highway itself.

It was from there that the desperate cries of a dog in the ice and water could be heard. I could see half the dog’s body sticking out of the broken ice and his two front paws desperately trying to clutch on to one of the concrete columns. He was struggling wildly and appeared to be sinking lower and lower into the water with each passing moment.

As I stood there watching, helplessly, my heart began to pound fast as I saw the dog beginning to slip further down into the water.

I panicked. I did not know what to do. I looked at my wife. She was screaming hysterically, and our puppy was barking wildly as if he knew that one of his canine friends was in trouble.

I looked around, for something, anything long that I could stick into the water for the dog to clutch on to so I could pull him in, but it was to no avail – the dog and the column was too far for anything to reach.

“Joe, do something! Jump in there,” my wife screamed.

“What, are you nuts?” I yelled. “That water is about 20-degrees and the ice looks like it is going to break.”

She covered her mouth with her hands, then said, “You’re right, and I don’t want you to go. We have to find someone to help.”

As we looked around, we suddenly saw a Parks Department truck parked with some men sitting in it that was idling about 500-yards from where we were standing.

“Thank God!” I said out loud then began running over to it.

“Hold on baby…hold on…you can make it baby…help is on the way.” My wife yelled to the struggling dog as its cries began to get louder and its struggle began to get weaker.

Just as I got up to the truck, the driver jumped out. “What’s wrong, buddy?” Obviously he had seen the urgency in my face.

“There’s a dog drowning in the lake over there, by the overpass.” I yelled at him.

He looked over for a moment towards the highway, then said, “Yeah, so, what do you want me to do?”

His answer startled me. I was not expecting such a callous response. “I want you to help it!” I screamed, “It’s going to drown!”

He looked at me as if I was nuts. “Are you serious? I’m not going out on that lake and neither are any of my men. They will fall in and freeze to death and probably drown!”

Without even thinking about it, I said, “Then I’ll go in. Just get me a rope so you can pull me up in case I fall through the ice!”

He thought for a moment, shook his head, then said, “Fine pal, have it your way.”

As he jumped back into the truck, I ran back towards the lake. By the time I got near the edge, people had begun to gather on the overpass above and from inside the park. Everybody was screaming, yelling to the dog to hold on longer.

As soon as the truck pulled by the water, four Parks Department employees jumped out and ran over with a thick, long rope. “Here, tie this around your waist and we’ll tie the other end to a tree,” the driver said. “If we see you start to fall in, we’re going to pull you out, okay?”

“Okay,” I agreed. As soon as the rope was tightly secure around my waist and tied to the tree, I began to walk on to the ice. I heard the ice cracking slightly below my feet.

“Lay down flat on your belly and crawl your way over,” yelled one of them. “And spread your feet apart to distribute your weight.”

I got down on both knees then began to crawl my way over to the dog. He was not crying very much now, but he noticed me and seemed to have found a new reason for hope. He began to cry louder, and he was shaking violently.

“Just a few seconds longer buddy…just a few seconds more,” I yelled to him. I was only about a few yards away when suddenly he lost his grip and began to slip the rest of the way into the water.

“No!” I screamed, then without thinking jumped up and lunged the rest of the way towards him. He was about 12-feet away from me, but I landed on my stomach and was just able to grab his front ankle as his head slipped below the water.

“I gotcha… I gotcha buddy!” I screamed as I grabbed on to his paw and held on tight. Just then, I heard someone scream “Pull!” as the rope tightened around my waist and I began to feel my body being pulled back towards the lake’s shore, I reached over with my other hand and grabbed his leg.

“Hold on…hold on buddy.” I whispered. As if by magic, the dog’s head suddenly came out of the water. I held on tighter and closed my eyes as we both got pulled into shore.

I could hear cheers coming from the overpass. People were yelling and shouting with joy. “You did it bro…you saved him!” Some guy from above yelled.

I was not feeling jubilant and I was very cold and sore. After the Parks Department guys took the rope off me and covered me with a towel, I went over to the dog and knelt beside him. He smelled all sweaty and wet, then proceeded to shake himself off by spraying it all on me.

I just laughed and bowed my head down to him as he happily licked my face.

We then sat in the truck with the dog for about a half hour to warm up then went on home. Me and my wife did not say much about it that evening. I think we were both a bit mentally exhausted.

The next morning when we woke up, my wife went outside to the driveway to get the Sunday newspaper. As she walked into the house, she was shaking her head looking down at the newspaper, then said to me, “Joe, you are not going to believe this.”

“What?” I said.

She handed the paper to me. There on the second page of the newspaper was a headline that said, “Parks Department Employees Rescue Drowning Dog From Lake!” There they were all four of the guys from the day before kneeling around the dog and hugging it.

I read the article. There was not one mention of me.

Now I could have been angry, and called the newspaper and told them what really happened, but what would that accomplish? Surely, I could have dug up a few of the dozens of witnesses that saw me rescue the dog and made a big deal about the story.

I decided not to do that. The important thing was that a dog’s life was saved from a horrible and untimely death. That was the real reward, for both me and the dog.

Sometimes in life, it is not what one gets out of doing something for someone that counts, or the recognition, it is the fact that you did something good for someone at all.

Besides, ever since then and everywhere I go, dogs are always very fond of me.

© Joseph E. Rathjen – All Rights Reserved – 2013

Joseph E. Rathjen is an Opinion Writer for 1World Online – America’s Fastest Growing Social Media Engine.

Here are some of my blogger friends posts on acts of kindness:

  1. The Train On The Tracks | The Jittery Goat
  2. Minor irritations | Chittle Chattle
  3. Daring Do | Geek Ergo Sum
  4. Daily Prompt: Daring Do | Under the Monkey Tree
  5. Daily Prompt: Daring Do | Diary of Dennis
  6. Daily Prompt: Daring Do | kimmiecode 🙂
  7. El Hombre Viril: The Abridged Epic of Julio and the Sun God | Finale to an Entrance
  8. Saving an abused child | alienorajt
  9. An 8 month old called Lili | The Number FiftyTwo
  10. Daily Prompt: Daring Do | Basically Beyond Basic
  11. bold | yi-ching lin photography
  12. Saved the Giddy Goat | Underneath her little mind
  13. Daring Do At Your Rescue | Kansa Muse
  14. When I Was Supermom | mycookinglifebypatty
  15. Daily Prompt: Daring Do | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  16. …is beautiful | peacefulblessedstar
  17. A Failed Rescue | Flowers and Breezes
  18. Daring Do | nanopod: hybrid studio
  19. Your Journey Is Your Own | The Nameless One
  20. Rescued | Life is great
  21. My Rescue! | Haiku By Ku
  22. DAILY PROMPT: PUTTING OUT THE FIRE | SERENDIPITY
  23. Simon Rescued Himself
  24. Bold | Momma Said There’d Be Days Like This
  25. ted corbitt and i | fragments of life
  26. Daily Prompt: Daring Do | My Extraordinary Everyday Life
  27. Top O’ The World Ma (Daily Prompt: Daring Do – Bold) | PCH Traveler
  28. I think the stars are a little out of alignment | Rob’s Surf Report
  29. BOLD | Active Army Wife
  30. DP Challenge: In the End…He is Still an Animal « Morning Pages
  31. Daily Prompt: Daring Do | My Atheist Blog
  32. When I Found Her, She Was Not There…(wp daily prompt) | Daily Observations
  33. The Pistol | johnny ojanpera
  34. Daily Prompt: Daring Do | soulfoodwords
  35. Bold (how I saved my soul) | Stories from aside
  36. Moving On From the Negative: Daily Prompts | Scorched Ice
  37. Daily Prompt: Heroine | One Starving Activist
  38. Daily Prompt Challenge: I Dared To Help A Friend In Recovery Crisis | *Recovery Ramblins Blog Of ~ Author Catherine Lyon*
  39. Up, Up and Away! | meanderedwanderings
  40. My Role of Rescuer – To My Drama-Addicted Family
  41. derring-done | sarahscapes
  42. Zakc Head
  43. TO SAVE THE WORLD | hastywords
  44. Daily Prompt: Daring Do: Hello? | UP! With Jesus
  45. Daily Prompt: Daring Do | Lost Bulldog! 😦 | House of Farts
  46. The Pass – a short story. | Kate Murray
  47. Dare To Save Your Life | Emotional Fitness
  48. Rescue Me | Wiley’s Wisdom
  49. Daily Prompt: Daring Do | GG’s World
  50. A Fire In Five Minutes | polymathically

13 thoughts on “The Forgotten Rescue Of One Lucky Dog!

  1. Pingback: The Daily Rescue | A mom's blog

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Daring Do | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  3. You are quite right, the important thing is that the dog was saved but it is annoying that the uncaring Parks employees got the credit. Still I’m sure dogs in the neighbourhood knew.

  4. Nicely done with the rescue and writing. We always have to remember our four-legged friends, and rescue them without expected recognition….I think most Americans know that the media is a joke anyway. It’s the feeling you get when you’ve saved an innocent, helpless at the time, furry friend. Awesome story.

  5. Pingback: Eco Survival | The Forgotten Rescue Of One Lucky Dog! | The Political and Social …

Leave a comment