Home

Old Safe PicWhat You May Not Know “About Me!”

(For The Daily Prompt – A Mystery Wrapped in an Enigma)
By Joseph E Rathjen
July 3rd, 2013

I bet none of you knew that at one time, I was a famous safecracker. I even wrote a book titled: “Manipulation Simplified” for the Locksmith and Safe Lock industry.

Nevertheless, what is “Manipulation?”

Manipulation is the term used to determine the combination of a safe lock using only your hands and a pen and a piece of paper. Now I am not talking about your cheap, ten-dollar, Master Lock on gym, school lockers that anyone can break into. I am talking about the more expensive types, like the ones used by drug dealers and international spies to hide multiple passports, handguns and getaway cash. Those high-end, safe locks cannot be broken into by just anyone, like you see actors do easily in the movies.

To break into those safe locks without drilling, you have to know your “stuff” so to speak.

It all began when I decided to enroll in the “New York City School of Locksmithing and Alarms”, back in 1989. My main purpose for doing so was to earn a little, extra cash on the side, but which soon ballooned into something more. I quickly became despondent with the only known and long method for determining a safe lock’s combination, so I set out to invent a quicker and more reliable technique – which I quickly did.

Not soon after that, Bill Reed, who was the owner and founder of “The Locksmith Ledger International magazine, approached me. Bill’s magazine was the “premiere” publication of its kind at the time. Bill said to me “How would you like to write a book about it for us?”

I was thrilled, I knew I could write, but the thought of me writing a book and actually getting it published seemed like nothing short of insanity, nevertheless, I just looked at him and smiled, then said “Sure.”

A year later that book was published, and then two more. I even got the nerve up to send in a not so professional book proposal to the McGraw-Hill Publishing Company, which was, surprisingly, accepted and published a year and a half later. Incidentally, that last book has been selling for 17 years now on amazon.com (Google me) of which I still receive two royalty checks each year for.

Thus, my future, part time writing career was born.

Now this story may not serve to describe a deep, mysterious revelation about me, but it may serve to prove that nothing is impossible.

When you have a desire and a passion – mixed in with a little bit of talent – all you need to do is to put your mind to it, keep your eyes open, be persistent, and then rush in when you see a good opening.

I wish you all, the best of luck!

Here are some of my blogger friends mysterious enigmas:

  1. Waiting for the flight to Halifax | Musings from a practical mystic
  2. A Mystery Wrapped in an Engima – I’m a criminal | Geek Ergo Sum
  3. Daily Prompt: Mysterious | Books, Music and Movies : my best friends
  4. The Facade | The Magic Black Book
  5. I, the Replacement | Daily Prompt: A Mystery Wrapped in an Engima | likereadingontrains
  6. What a Yank! | Becoming Aussie
  7. Daily Prompt: A Mystery Wrapped in an Enigma | ThisCornerOfTheWoods
  8. The Phone Call from Russia | The Happy Hermit
  9. Daily Prompt: A Mystery Wrapped in Engima | Faraziyya
  10. What To Do With My Free Time: A Mystery Wrapped in an Enigma | To Pursue Happiness
  11. Daily Prompt: A Mystery Girl | Mindful Splatter
  12. Mysterious | thoughtsofrkh
  13. Jacob’s Secret (short fiction) | The Jittery Goat
  14. Ode to the Fountain Pen… | The Rider
  15. Daily Prompt: A Mystery Wrapped… | Under the Monkey Tree
  16. My Little Secret | Tony’s Texts
  17. Crunch, Slap, Sploosh | downtownnokomis
  18. Daily Prompt: A Mystery Wrapped in an Engima | hometogo232
  19. Daily Prompt: A Mystery Wrapped In An Enigma | suzie81’s Blog
  20. Wild thang | Relax…
  21. Daily Prompt: A Mystery Wrapped in an Engima | George and Nigel
  22. Daily Prompt: A Mystery Wrapped in an Engima | Postcards from
  23. The insolvent graduate | A couple of dollars
  24. A Regular Michaelangelo [Daily Prompt: A Mystery Wrapped in an Engima] | unknowinglee
  25. Apparently, I should not admit this in public . . . | burnedbutternut
  26. Catherine B.’s Blog | I’m A Mystery | Daily Prompt | A Mystery Wraped in an Enigma
  27. The Enigmatic Mystery of the Real Cie | The Cheese Whines
  28. Shhh!: Daily Prompt | BLUE BEAD PUBLICATIONS
  29. Pay Me No Mind . . . | meanderedwanderings
  30. The Key to My Secret | Iam Who Iam
  31. Big bad George | Thin spiral notebook
  32. Daily Prompt: A Mystery Wrapped in an Enigma | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  33. Is There Something in Those Layers? | floatingsheep
  34. A Secret… | Haiku By Ku
  35. Daily Prompt: A Mystery Wrapped in an Engima | unknowinglee
  36. The creature of mystery, fantasy and ultimate beauty! | My Tiny Thoughts
  37. Fear on the bridge | Vivir, que no es poco
  38. Daily Prompt: A Purple Haze of Mystery | Slam on the Brakes, Pull Over, Take the Picture
  39. Daily Prompt: Full-blooded American Dane | cinnwriterblog
  40. Chef Mental Rollercoaster | mentalrollercoaster
  41. A Mystery Wrapped In An Enigma | bheehappy
  42. No More Mysteries | clarior e tenebris
  43. Nobody is Perfect | Lewis Cave
  44. Ведем ежедневник: Тайна, окутанная мраком. | Впечатанные Мысли
  45. Daily Prompt: A Mystery To Solve? | My Daily Prompt Blog
  46. Daily Prompt: A Mystery Wrapped in an Engima « Mama Bear Musings
  47. The Daily Prompt: Criminal Psychology and Me | theconsciouswriter
  48. Daily Prompt: I’m Really an Introvert | Cytherean Dreams
  49. Daily Prompt: A Mystery Wrapped in an Enigma | Let There be Peace on Earth
  50. A Mystery Wrapped in an Engima: The Early Days | Khana’s Web
  51. Jeckyll and Hyde | I really just pretend to know stuff
  52. Daily Prompt: A Mystery Wrapped in an Enigma – Who is she? | SERENDIPITY
  53. One thing you might not know about me? I’m filled with ‘rage’ | Curious Jac
  54. A WAR NEVER WON | hastywords
  55. Mysterious me | Spunky Wayfarer
  56. The Thin Line Seperating Madness and Creativity | Spontaneous Ditties
  57. What You Don’t Know About Me | Pieces of the Puzzle
  58. Daily Prompt: A Mystery Wrapped in an Enigma | Quirky Brunette
  59. Why Would I? | ayimas
  60. Writing Fiction: Mystery and Enigma | Dog Leader Mysteries
  61. Limerick for Denise | clarior e tenebris
  62. Daily Prompt: A Mystery Wrapped in an Enigma | Script Under Construction
  63. the UNCATEGORISED … | the TRASH BASH
  64. No Mystery – I am a Fan of the Twilight Zone | No Facilities
  65. Daily Prompt: A Mystery Wrapped in an Engima | mommy&everything
  66. Daily Prompt: A Mystery Wrapped in an Enigma | The corner of my imagination
  67. I Was At Disney Senior Night (or Not) | Sam’s Online Journal
  68. Daily Prompt: Mysterious | Hamburg und Mee(h)r
  69. The Healing Place « Overcoming to Becoming
  70. Summer! | Journey Called Life …
  71. My dog is a mystic “pack leader” |
  72. Daily Prompt: A Mystery Wrapped in an Enigma | prettywitgla33es
  73. Who Knew? | A Day in the Life
  74. Mysterious Friendships | Vampire Maman
  75. Daily Prompt: A Mystery Wrapped in an Enigma- Curious Connect with Televsion | Expressions
  76. I don’t like to talk about this but….. | djgarcia94
  77. Daily Prompt: A Mystery Wrapped in an Enigma | Musings of a Budding Filipina Mom to a Half-Blood Kid
  78. It’s A Mystery | Taking One Day At A Time
  79. Daily Post Meets For the Promptless, Season 2 Episode 8: The Mystery of Cryptids | One Starving Activist
  80. Daily Prompt: A Mystery Wrapped in an Enigma | Chicomallorca’s Blog
  81. Daily Prompt: A Mystery Wrapped in an Engima | The Blogging Path

10 thoughts on “What You May Not Know “About” Me!

  1. Pingback: The insolvent graduate | A couple of dollars

  2. Pingback: Eyes of sorrow | Ireland, Multiple Sclerosis & Me

Leave a comment