Home

 

starbuckscoffee cup

 

Published By: 1World Online

I always like to talk about race relations in America with my morning latte. For some strange reason, it makes my Starbucks’ ‘White Chocolate Mocca’ taste better. It also makes me feel that I am being responsible by keeping my choice of morning brew up to the acceptable standards for promoting racial, harmony.

Well, not really, I lied – I just think it tastes good.

Starbucks’ new #RaceTogether campaign, marketing ploy, or whatever else you want to call it is probably the most blatant and shameful display of a business infusing the race card to sell a product. Also, by having their employees start conversations with customers about race relations in America is just naïve and dumb.

Who has the time to discuss race relations with a barista in the morning when they are ten minutes late to work and desperately pining for that much-needed, caffeine pick-me-up?

And who wants to anyway?

If I want to have a serious conversation about race relations in America, I can turn on the TV and go on CNN or MSNBC. At any given moment, I can hear plenty of that – along with the latest news of what white cop shot a black kid or who is being discriminated against because of their race or religion.

But I don’t need it with my morning coffee and especially with a barista whose main function in the store is to pour a cappuccino and ring me up.

And get me out of the store as quickly as possible.

Starbucks’ #racetogether campaign is not only improper it is also insulting. Having a Starbucks employee ask me “How have your racial views evolved from those of your parents,” is an invasion of privacy and has no place in a public setting, not to mention being initiated inside a retail store.

Sorry, Starbucks, that’s none of your business and is personal information that is on a ‘need to know basis’ only. Starbucks CEO, Howard Schultz and his employees don’t need to know that information or have it broadcasted across the counter.

There are plenty of social research engines that are more qualified and know how to poll the public in the proper forum – like 1World Online. So, Starbucks would be wise to stay out of the social polling business and leave it to the professionals.

I think Starbucks would serve their customers better if they put this question on their coffee cups, “DO YOU THINK THIS CHOCOLATE MOCCA COSTS TOO MUCH?”

 

Joseph E. Rathjen is a freelance writer and an Opinion Writer at 1World Online – America’s Fastest Growing Social Research Engine

1worldonline3 logo

2 thoughts on “Starbuck’s #RaceTogether Campaign Slings The Racecard

Leave a Reply

