Home

daughter and dad image

 

Published by: 1World Online

When I think about my Dad, I think about the one person in my life who was always synonymous with the word accountable. My Dad, in his quest to teach me responsibility, always said to me when I did something wrong, “Son, if you had half a brain you would be dangerous.”

Dads are much different from moms. While mothers cuddle us and sometimes make excuses for our mistakes, it is always our dads who brazenly call us out on our transgressions. Sometimes we hate them for it, and at other times we wish we could turn back the hands of time and recapture their sound advice.

“Why the hell would you do something stupid like that, you numskull!” They sometimes scream at us. We can only look back at them and mumble something nonsensical under our breath and hope for some slight form of redemption.

“Yeah, Dad, I know, I should have listened to you.”

Sometimes we view our dads as the obstacle that prevent us from what we want in life. We forget though, that the roadblocks they usually put up for us are for our own benefit. Most of our dads have been down that dusty road before and know all about the tumbleweeds that will inevitably cross our paths.

When Father’s Day rolls around each year, some of us rejoice that our dads are alive. Some of us recall the great memories about our dads before they passed on. Lots of us still have regrets, sadness and other feelings also. One thing we all seem to have in common though is that we all agree that our dads were a driving force in our lives in one way, or another.

If we could all have the perfect dad, our lives would be great, wouldn’t they? All of the solutions to our problems would be waiting for us, and make our lives easier to endure. But dads are not made perfect. They have faults, character defects, shortcomings, and failures like the rest of us have in life.

While we are growing up our dads sometimes disagree with some of the things, we have done. We argue with them and believe that they are unsympathetic with our goals and outlooks for the future. Sometimes they are right, and sometimes they are dead wrong.

The important thing to remember, however is that if they did not agree or disagree with us and let us do what we want – that would mean they did not care at all about us and what happens to us down the road.

That is what a dad’s driving force is all about. That is what our dads sometimes try to convey to us. You can be what you want to be in life, but only you can be held accountable or reap the rewards.

I loved my dad. It is a shame that he had to die when I was still young. It was right before my wedding day that he died, and it was both the most joyous day in my life and the saddest one.

I still remember though, what my dad said to me a few days before my wedding, which was, “When I die, don’t think about what you loved or hated about me, think about what you learned from me.”

I have not forgotten, and neither should anyone else forget what their dads have done for them.

 

Joseph E. Rathjen is a freelance writer, book author and an Opinion Writer at 1World Online – America’s Fastest Growing Social Research Engine.

1worldonline3 logotwitter-ani

 

 

Enhanced by Zemanta
Leave a Reply

