Home

pepperoni pizza image

 

 

For the Daily Prompt: No Apologies

Pepperoni Pizza – it is the staple of life for me as it is for millions of other pizza lovers around the world. As far as I am concerned, pizza is the one, guilty pleasure that is not negotiable. Pepperoni pizza, in itself, is the coup d’état of casual, Friday night dining in hundreds of thousands of homes across America, and it always will be to the end of time.

What mouth-watering food comes to mind on a Friday night more than pizza does? There is none, and there never will be as long as pizza still exists. One of my fondest, childhood memories is of going to the local pizzeria with my family every Friday night to gorge on Al Dente’s pepperoni pizza.

Everyone loves pepperoni pizza; kids love it, and millions of adults love pepperoni pizza. How could they not? What tastes better than digging your teeth into a greasy, cheese and pepperoni-filled slice of pizza?

The way the oil drips off the slice and lands on your plate is like a tributary flowing forth from a river of edible delights. It is magical, and beyond reproach.

There is no alternative to eating pepperoni pizza on a Friday or Saturday night, and everyone knows there is none. Of course, there are those that will say it is not healthy for you, but let them squander in a cuisine filled with bland, unhappy food.

I like to enjoy my meal and spoil myself sometimes. I like to taste the cheese, the pepperoni and the oil and then grab for more.

Two-years ago my doctor told me I might have to eventually have my gallbladder taken out. I asked her if I would be able to eat pepperoni pizza afterwards, to which she replied, “Maybe not.”

I still have my gallbladder today.

When it comes to dieting, or worrying about my cholesterol and sodium levels, pepperoni pizza does not factor in and never will. It is untouchable and a guilty pleasure that I will never surrender.

As a matter-of-fact, I think I’m going to go out for lunch after I finish this post and go out for a few slices of pepperoni pizza.

Yeah, I know – it’s not Friday or Saturday night, but who cares. I can hear and smell the pizza from John’s Italian Restaurant by my house calling out to me.

It is a call that I could never resist, and never will.

I love pepperoni pizza, and I truly believe, that it loves me as well.

 

Joseph E. Rathjen is a freelance writer, book author, blogger and an Opinion Writer at 1World Online – America’s Fastest Growing Social Research Engine.

 1worldonline3 logo

Enhanced by Zemanta
9 thoughts on “Why I Will Never Give Up Pepperoni Pizza!

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: No Apologies – we are all human | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  2. Pingback: Apologize? I think not! | The Hempstead Man

  3. Pingback: No Guilt Here! | I'm a Writer, Yes I Am

  4. Pingback: DAILY PROMPT: No Apologies | Nola Roots, Texas Heart

  5. Oh crap! I had my gallbladder out two weeks ago! They mentioned nothing about giving up Pepperoni Pizza. Blasphemy I tell you!

  6. Oh no! I just had my gallbladder removed two weeks ago. They mentioned nothing about giving up Pepperoni Pizza!

Leave a Reply

