Home
Wiki Commons

Wiki Commons

For The Daily Prompt: Good Fences

They moved in two-years ago at the beginning of the Summer. There was four of them – two adults and two kids. At first they were not very sociable except for the first day I fired-up my new barbecue grill.

It was about a half-hour after that they come out into the yard and start waving to me and my wife. They nonchalantly strolled over to the fence and asked us what we were cooking for dinner. Their kids ran over to the fence with looks of excitement on their faces.

“Watcha cooking?” One of the kids asked.

“Cheeseburgers.” I said, with a smile on my face.

“Cool!” One of the kids exclaimed.

My wife, being the good woman that she is, quickly invited them to join us. Of course, she never bothered to ask me if we had enough food for everyone.

Time to scrounge up some hot dogs.

It was a pleasant day. We cooked, ate, we got to know one another and they presented themselves as a nice family. We even exchanged phone numbers. Later that evening they went home.

The next morning when I went out to my car I waved to them as they were milling around their yard. None of them waved back. Okay, maybe they did not notice me, I thought.

There was about three more times that week that me and my wife saw them outside in their yard and tried to communicate with them. Every time it was to no avail. My wife even called their phone number a few times when she knew they were all home, but there was never an answer.

We began to wonder if there was something we had said or something we did to offend them.

We could not think of any.

The next Sunday around noontime, I went outside and fired-up the barbecue grill. Within minutes, they all came out of their house and began walking around the yard. It was not before long that the husband and wife walked over to the fence.

“Hi neighbor, what are you cooking?” The husband asked.

“HI guys.” I said. I could not resist. “We tried to get in touch with you guys a few times this week, but there was no answer.”

They stood there and looked at me dumbfounded. Then the husband said,” Oh, don’t mind us, we’re usually not very social with strangers.” They both laughed.

“Strangers?” I thought to myself.

For a moment, I contemplated that remark. I tried to be fair in my deductive reasoning. Was there a reason they still considered us strangers? Was there a reason why they were anti-social? Was there are a reason why they were always looking for a free meal? Maybe they hit hard times and were afraid to tell anyone, or maybe – they were not very good with manners and had no problem with being standoffish with a friendly neighbor.

“I understand.” I said to them with a smile. They stood there for a few minutes more smiling and watching me look at the grill. Suddenly, and without even thinking about it, I turned the grill off and closed the lid.

“What are you doing?” asked the husband harshly.

“Oh, gee, I decided I don’t feel much like barbecuing today, bye now.”

As I walked away, I heard the husband say to his wife under his breath, “Well, I guess we’ll have to cook ourselves today.” Then they both laughed.

Those are my neighbors. Do not ask me what their names are because I forgot.

Now, we only refer to them as “Those people next door.”

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Lonely Park | muffinscout
  2. Axe-wielding landlady: a true story! Daily Prompt | alienorajt
  3. JFK Ultra Walk | Exploratorius
  4. Mr Fall | Perspectives on life, universe and everything
  5. Paradox | Perspectives on life, universe and everything
  6. A bird and the boat | Perspectives on life, universe and everything
  7. Daily Prompt: Good Fences? | DCMontreal: Blowing the Whistle on Society
  8. Neighbours | Sue’s Trifles
  9. Yeah, I’m in the habit of phoning weirdo’s and hanging out. | thoughtsofrkh
  10. Next Door | Melibelle in Tokyo
  11. Revenge of the Duck | The Jittery Goat
  12. Stopping by Woods on a Snowy Evening | Ps and Qs: Photography, Poetry and Quiet
  13. Unseen and Unknown | Finale to an Entrance
  14. adversity | yi-ching lin photography
  15. DP Daily Prompt: Good fences? | Sabethville
  16. Two Hours | Lifeinpawprints’s Weblog
  17. Daily Prompt: Good Fences? « Mama Bear Musings
  18. Fences, Boundaries, and Relationships Prayers and Promises
  19. Mal Vecino! | growinolder
  20. Weekly Photo Challenge: Selfie & Neighbors | LenzExperiments
  21. There’s a space-ship in my neighbor’s garage | A mom’s blog
  22. Neighbourhood. | The Word Trance
  23. Good Neighbors, Bad Neighbors « One Crazy Mom
  24. second home first | peacefulblessedstar
  25. Neighbors in a bus! | Notes to self…
  26. [M.M.X.I.V. 39] Mighty Murf | Never A Worry
  27. Who is Truly My Neighbor? | meanderedwanderings
  28. Daily Prompt: Good Fences? | Beats of Pieces
  29. Lasers, Conspiracies, and Aluminum Hats | Under the Monkey Tree
  30. Daily Prompt: Good Fences? | imagination
  31. The Good Doctor | My Author-itis
  32. Evening Jam Session | My Little Avalon
  33. Who is my neighbor? | humblegenealogy
  34. Daily Prompt: Good Fences? | An American in Norway, a Citizen of the World
  35. Daily Prompt: Good Fences? | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  36. Friendly | Active Army Wife
  37. Oh My Neighbor | Flowers and Breezes
  38. Daily Prompt: Good Fences? | Occasional Stuff
  39. Daily Prompt: Next Door | A Taste of Morning
  40. Living in a New York “Oz” Neighborhood: The Racer, The Smoker, The Harangued Mommy, and The Pet-Friendly Curmudgeon « psychologistmimi
  41. Two different stories | Life is great
  42. Good Fences Do Make Good Neighbors | Lisa’s Kansa Muse
  43. Neighbours | VirtuallyAllSorts
  44. Daily Prompt: Good Fences? | Basically Beyond Basic
  45. Best NEIGHbors in the World / Daily Prompt | I’m a Writer, Yes I Am
  46. From a Dog’s Eye-view…wp daily prompt | Daily Observations
  47. CHICKENS, COOPS, CRAZY TURKEYS AND ONE OLD FARMER | SERENDIPITY
  48. Good Fences Do Make Good Neighbours – Eventually | The Zombies Ate My Brains
  49. Childhood neighbors | My Weigh To Lose
  50. Is it really greener on the other side? | MC’s Whispers
  51. Daily Prompt: Good Fences? | The Wandering Poet
  52. The Strangest of Places | martha0stout
  53. the blackberry is a gooseberry | litadoolan
  54. Accidentally Aging | Kosher Adobo
  55. DP: Next door | As I See It
  56. Like a good neighbor, stay over there | Willow’s Corner
  57. Daily Prompt: Good Fences | Finding Life
  58. Daily Prompt: Good Fences? | MARGARET ROSE STRINGER
  59. Daily Prompt: Fences couldn’t keep me in … | Nicola Kirk
  60. Daily Prompt: Next Door | Occasional Stuff
  61. Yellow In My Neighborhood | Light Words
  62. On the Other Side of the Fence | by LRose
  63. Rats with Wings | field of thorns
  64. lordmikle
  65. Neighbours, Everybody Needs Good Neighbours… | Steve Says….
  66. Daily Prompt: Good Fences? | Reflections and Nightmares- Irene A Waters (writer and memoirist)
  67. Good fences | An Italophile
  68. No One is Home | The Land Slide Photography
  69. Of Love (John Keats’ Next Door Neighbour) | Angela Hickman ~ Poetry
  70. Not yet love | vic briggs
  71. Next door | Dhikrcave
  72. Daily Prompt: Fences (For S) | Finicky Philly
  73. Neighbors: Daily Post | Destino
  74. Daily Prompt: Good Fences? | 2l2phant
  75. Good Fences | the word weaver
  76. Hello, Neighbor! | The Teen Theme
  77. Love Thy Neighbor | U Be Cute – Follow the child inside of you…
  78. Next Door | Travel with Intent
  79. Daily Prompt: Good Fences? | tnkerr-Writing Prompts and Practice
  80. NED, THE BIKER WHO PLUMBED | SERENDIPITY
  81. Old Jimmy | Overcoming Bloglessness
  82. The Apartment of Sin | Writings of The Midnight Thief
  83. Good Fences? | Wandering Gypsy Spirit
  84. Daily Prompt: Good Fences? | Nola Roots, Texas Heart
  85. NED, THE BIKER WHO PLUMBED | Feature Magazine
  86. Nightmares
  87. Thoughts on 40 Years of Neighbourhoods and Neighbours | The Silver Leaf Journal
  88. Please Fence Them In | The Road Less Paved
  89. Daily Prompt: Being Neighbourly! | All Things Cute and Beautiful
  90. Daily Prompt: Good Fences | Morrighan’s Muse
  91. On the other side | Ericka Mercado
Enhanced by Zemanta
11 thoughts on “Those People Next Door

  1. Pingback: blackberry is a gooseberry | litadoolan

  2. Pingback: Living in a New York “Oz” Neighborhood: The Racer, The Smoker, The Harangued Mommy, and The Pet-Friendly Curmudgeon « psychologistmimi

  3. Pingback: of good neighbors | Anawnimiss

  4. Pingback: Blame It on the Kids | Love.Books.Coffee.

Leave a Reply

