Home

Gallbladder

 

For The Daily prompt: FAQ:

Interview someone — a friend, another blogger, your mother, the mailman — and write a post based on their responses.

 

I have a great doctor. She’s very pretty, inquisitive and always takes the time to listen to my complaints and answer all my ridiculous health questions. She is also very hot-looking, especially for her age. I’m not sure if that’s the real reason I like going to her so much, but I won’t dwell on that. I just found it necessary to mention that so it will be easier for you to understand one of the reasons why I like her so much. It is not the most important reason, I assure you, but I won’t bother trying to convince anyone of that.

The last time I visited her, I decided to ask her what she thought about ObamaCare. I always have the last appointment of the evening of which the end of it is always spent talking about something health-related. I decided to take that opportunity to ask her what she thought about ObamaCare. Here is what she said:

“Not much!”

“What?”

“You asked me what I thought about ObamaCare, right?”

“Yes.”

“Well, I just told you. Not much.” And she said it with a smile and a little sideways and downward tilt of the head just like one does when nodding towards the trash bin.

I had a suspicion of why she probably does not like ObamaCare, and a few more, but I did not want to insult her and ask her if it was because of money.

“So doc, is it because you won’t make as much money anymore? You know, like, you won’t be able to charge as much as you usually do?” Suddenly, I decided what the hell, just come right out with it.

She just smiled kind of slyly, then said, “Oh, Joseph, I can always charge just as much money or even more if I want to. The question is will I get paid for all of it, and am I just another greedy doctor? Isn’t that what you really want to ask me?”

I started to detect a slight tone of animosity and sarcasm in her voice. She looked at me through the top of her reading glasses intently. I had the feeling I may have crossed over the line of a very friendly, doctor-patient relationship.

She raised her head a little then said, “Well?”

Before I answered that question, I thought back to about a year ago when I went to her complaining about pain in my gall bladder. After having a sonogram, she and a surgeon agreed that I should have my gallbladder removed immediately. I said no, no one is taking my gallbladder out, at least not yet anyway. Thankfully the pain went away and I’ve had no problems since. I don’t know if the stones passed or are just lying dormant, but I figured why push the issue.

I just grinned and her, then said, “I was just curious, you know, with you being a doctor and all.”

She shook her head, then said, “Thanks for reminding me.”

She nodded then looked back at my chart. It seemed like a very long moment before she said anything as she seemed to be closely reviewing my chart. Just as I had decided to get up and make a hasty exit, she asked me, “Oh Joseph, by the way, how is your gallbladder doing?”

My answer was swift and right to the point, “It’s feels fine, doc! I gotta go. Bye!”

I could swear as I was trotting down the hall I could hear her laughing… hysterically.

 

© Joseph E. Rathjen – All Rights Reserved – 2013

Joseph E. Rathjen is an Opinion Columnist/Staff Writer for: WomanScope NewsMagazine and 1World Online.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Mom And I Talk About Death And Bikinis | The Jittery Goat
  2. Daily Prompt: FAQ – An Open Interview | littlegirlstory
  3. Details make a difference | Lost in Translation
  4. Daily Prompt: FAQ | Awl and Scribe
  5. Fruit Loops Hit the Spot! | meanderedwanderings
  6. Daily Prompt: The Cat Allergy Man | My Daily Prompt Blog
  7. A brief-ish interview with myself. | thoughtsofrkh
  8. Birthday Interview | It’s a wonderful F’N life
  9. Pearl tackles the big issues. | mostlytrueramblings
  10. An inspiration and an adventure through a book | MC’s Whispers
  11. Clara Interviews the Daydream Fairy « Clara’s Coffee Break
  12. Yid | Sorrow & The Liberation
  13. Detail … Sagrada Familia, Barcelona | Eyes to Heart
  14. Talk To A Cat? Don’t Ask Questions! | The Ambitious Drifter
  15. Living Without the Crack [Part 4] | JC Bride ~
  16. FAQ | JC Bride ~
  17. Daily Prompt: FAQ | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  18. Daily Prompt: FAQ/Love Yourself First | Simply Savory
  19. A Holiday Fairy Tale! | Haiku By Ku
  20. Scorned | vic briggs
  21. An Army Wife’s Memoirs | A mom’s blog
15 thoughts on “My Interview With My Doctor About ObamaCare

  1. Pingback: Details | Kansa Muse

  2. Pingback: Hakuna Matata | Processing the life

  3. Joseph, I was really caught up in reading this, partly because I work with a variety of doctors as an imaging tech, and perform exams myself under their orders. I hope it won’t irritate you if I offer an honest opinion and say your doctor sounds like a total snot. Any of our providers who spoke with patients the way she did with you would have been put on suspension. However, if you were fictionalizing the encounter, it worked. Fascinating piece!

  4. Pingback: Daily Prompt: FAQ | BulgingButtons

  5. Pingback: Daily Prompt: FAQ | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  6. Pingback: Mom And I Talk About Death And Bikinis | The Jittery Goat

  7. Pingback: Daily prompt: Detail! – A visit in a stable | Words 'n Pics

  8. Pingback: Saturday Spinning | Tommia's Tablet

  9. Pingback: FAQ | My Kaleidoscope

  10. Pingback: An Army Wife’s Memoirs | A mom's blog

  11. Pingback: The finer details | Life as a country bumpkin...not a city girl

Leave a Reply

