Home

Android Kit Kat
Does It Come With A Ray Gun?
By Joseph E Rathjen
Published at 1World Online
September 05, 2013

This is undoubtedly one of the strangest marketing ploys ever…even for Google. Whoever thought up this absurd ad campaign should have themselves inducted into the “thinking out of the box” hall of shame. The only reason Nestle got into the act is because Google gives their late-night programmers free Kit Kat bars while they are working – what a score for Nestle.

Do you think that might be to help keep them awake and hopping around like good little CPU bunnies running on nuclear-charged energy cells?

Google is gambling on drawing chocolate candy bar lovers into stores to devour the 50 million, specially marked Kit Kat bars, which have inside giveaways for either free Nexus 7 tablets or credits for their new Android software for smartphones, digital apps and media from Google’s Play store.

This is not the first time companies have tried this type of marketing strategy for new brands. Apple and Verizon tried it in the past and with not such great results.

When you put the two words Android and Kit Kat together, people are naturally going to become confused, at least I know I did.

“What is that chocolate-stick-looking robot thing with antennas on my TV screen?” I said to myself when I first saw it. At first, I thought E.T. had come back down to earth as a chocolate bar and took over my cable TV network.

What is even more absurd was Nestlé’s description of the strange-looking candy bar, saying its “confectionery engineering and tri-core wafer thin CPU with full chocolate coverage…” Wait a second…is that something that could electrocute me when I bite into it?

On YouTube, a video was posted about it and was described as a chocolate bar that “has been carefully considered and crafted to create a beautifully immersive and multi-sensory experience.” Awesome…that sounds like something I can bring with me on my next trip to Star Trek’s “Enterprise” halo deck.

No thanks, I think I’ll pass. I never liked Kit Kats anyway.

© Joseph E Rathjen – All Rights Reserved – 2013

1worldonline3 logo

2 thoughts on “Does It Come With A Ray Gun?

  1. I am So loving this post!

    I’m still laughing madly.

    Insightful, thoughtful and very well executed. 🙂

    Would you mind terribly if I said “brilliant!”?

Leave a Reply

