Home
Courtesy CanStockPhoto

Courtesy CanStockPhoto

How To Build A Writing Career –  From A Past Life!
By Joseph E Rathjen
June 8th, 2013

When I first decided to become a freelance writer, I decided to use the best tools I had at my disposal to kick it off, which was everything I had learned in the last 32 years of my past life – where building starts from the very first block of a foundation wall. This may seem like a strange way to become a freelance writer, but sometimes, if you follow the principles and methodology of a past life (career) you can springboard yourself into another world bound for glory. This method may not be for everyone, but when you have been used to following a certain doctrine and philosophy in a past profession, tapping into those skills could be the wisest strategy you will ever use for the success of  launching a new one.

For instance, I have worked as a union carpenter, supervisor and project manager for 32 years now, and have found that the best form of production is the 3-Ps, which are: proper planning, proper preparation and proper production. This may sound infantile, but you would be surprised how many tradesmen I knew that would come to the job site without the proper tools or the experience. Without the proper tools, no building will ever start or ever get finished – whether it is a wall or a blog post.

Although writing is much different then construction, it still has a building process. Number one, you must have a blueprint, and know how to read and use it. That means getting it down on paper and following it religiously. Construction blueprints sometimes utilize the term “TBD”, which means “to-be-determined.” If you have any TBDs in your writing career plans (and believe me – I have plenty) make a specific list of those. Ignoring TBDs in the building process will come back to bite you in the butt later – just when you think your project is finally completed. Once again, do not ignore the TBDs, they are an important element for the completion of a properly finished project.

Another method I have utilized from my past career is following a rigid building schedule. Planning a deadline for each building process along the way is crucial for bringing a project in on time. In the construction world, being behind schedule can have you paying a contractual penalty that could add up to a lot of dollars and cents. Everyday that you complete the project behind schedule can cost you dearly and affect how clients view your potential for completing future building (or writing) projects.

Guess what, I just saw Carol’s post on this subject and had only 2 hours to write this post and get it in on time before voting began. If it is here, how is that for working on a tight deadline?

Those two steps I just outlined may not seem like much, but I have found in my past career those two steps meant a lot to completing projects on time, satisfying the client’s requirements and building a solid, trustworthy business relationship. If you have a past career which skills, tips and tricks are at your disposal, don’t hesitate to use them. It could make the difference between failure and success.

4 thoughts on “How To Build A Writing Career – From A Past Life!

  1. No wonder you got top votes…thumbs up for creativity. 🙂 Often new writers come to this profession severely underestimating the experience gained from past professions. I know I did! But I’ve learned that you can learn lessons about blogging and writing everywhere. My most recent blog post is about marketing lessons I learned from helping my mother sell pies at a church event. 🙂 We just have to stay open to lessons and not take our experiences for granted.

Leave a Reply

